Resources

These are a selection of links that we think you might find useful.

Please see our twitter account for curated lists of the Female Arts Team Feminist Theatre and Gender Equality advocates

Includes Feminist Theatre, Feminist sites /mags / zines, Events / Festivals, Feminist Arts (Fine art and crafts) Feminist Music, Radio, Feminist Film, Feminist Literature, Feminist Comedy, Feminist Business

Feminist Theatre

Theatre Company: Sphinx Theatre http://www.sphinxtheatre.co.uk/ 35% of actors, 17% of writers, 23% of directors, 52% of the population - putting women centre stage @Sphinxtheatre

Designers Agency and collective: Designers Formation www.designersformation.com @tdfdesigners

Theatre Company: Urban Foxes Collective http://urbanfoxescollective.tumblr.com/ all female group of artists specialising in physical, playful and multi-disciplinary theatre. @FoxesCollective http://cargocollective.com/urbanfoxescollective

Theatre Company: Prams in the Hall www.pramsinthehall.com @Pram_InThe_Hall

Theatre Company: Epsilon Productions all female http://www.epsilonproductions.co.uk/ @EpsilonProds

Theatre Company: Hot Salt Theatre www.hotsalt-theatre.co.uk feminist theatre @HotSaltTheatre

Theatre Company: The Rose Theatre Company @TheRoseCompany Lancaster based female theatre company performing female playwrights works from pre 1900. Lancaster. http://therosecompany.posthaven.com

Theatre Company: Certain Curtain Theatre www.cctheatre.co.uk Using theatre to raise awareness of domestic abuse/Human rights @cctheatreco @johnwoudberg http://www.facebook.com/pages/Certain-Curtain-Theatre-Company

Theatre Company: Skin of Our Teeth Theatre Company http://www.soot-theatre.co.uk/ Restoring the balance @SOOTTheatre

Theatre Company:Goblin Baby Theatre Company activist theatre www.GoblinBaby.com @GoblinBabyCo

Theatre Company: Clean Break @CleanBrk http://www.cleanbreak.org.uk/ independent education programme for female prisoners

Theatre Company: Mama Quilla Initiative @MQInitiative produce original, innovative, mixed-media performances, responding to world political issues from a female viewpoint. www.mmqcollective-diaries.blogspot.co.uk

Theatre Company: Unbound Productions @unbound_theatre Pushing the boundaries and conventions of theatre.

Theatre Company: Green Girl Productions @GreenGirlProd London based #Theatre & #Film company Gender Equal Casting http://greengirlprod.wordpress.com

Theatre Company: Manhattan Shakes @ManhattanShakes ALL-FEMALE Shakespeare Company New York www.manhattanshakes.org

Theatre Company: Smooth Faced Gentlemen @SmoothFacedGent All-Female Shakespeare Company. Based in London. www.smoothfacedgentlemen.com

Theatre Company: Get Over It Productions @GetOverItPro All-Female ensemble often performing all-female Shakespeare. http://getoveritproductions.com

Theatre Company: Tonic Theatre @TonicTheatre Supporting the UK theatre industry to achieve greater gender equality in its workforces & repertoires. http://www.tonictheatre.co.uk

Theatre Company: @WALBTMT 'What A Little Bird Told Me Theatre' emerging company committed to bringing audiences more female representaion. Tweets by Creative Director @RachelLCreamer

Theatre Company: Gazebo Theatre @GazeboTheatre 34 years of exciting Professional Theatre, Theatre In Education, & Community Arts www.facebook.com/gazeboarts www.gazebotie.org

Theatre Company: PurpleRoosterTheatre @PurpleRooster5 An emerging all-female performance collective creating innovative interpretations of existing stories through dynamic interdisciplinary theatre. Birmingham http://purplerooster5.wordpress.com

Theatre Company: The Gramophones Nottingham based all female company making quirky theatre with a twinkle in its eye. @The_Gramophones www.gramophonestheatre.com

Theatre Company: Hecate Theatre @Hecate_Theatre Reinventing classical and modern theatre with an all-female dynamic. Bristol, UK · www.hecatetheatre.co.uk

Theatre Company: Fluff Productions @WeAreFluff Award winning all female theatre company promoting new writing for women. London www.fluffproductions.co.uk

Theatre Company: Stellar Quines @Stellarquines Stellar Quines facilitates the creative work of women in Scottish Theatre. Edinburgh www.stellarquines.com

Theatre Company: Kali Theatre Company @KaliTheatreUK Award winning Kali develops & presents ground breaking new theatre by South Asian women. In 2012 we celebrated 21 years! Viva Kali! London www.kalitheatre.co.uk

Theatre Company: Tapestry Theatre Company @VickiPMcKellar produce plays which focus on strong parts for actresses http://www.tapestrytheatrecompany.co.uk

Theatre Company: Papercut Theatre @papercuttheatre http://www.papercuttheatre.co.uk gender blind casting

Theatre Company: Agent 160 'a writer-led theatre company that produces work from its female playwrights' http://agent160theatre.co.uk/ @Agent160theatre

Theatre Company: Sh!t Theatre @shittheatre - Award-winning performance art duo & Muppet fans.Associate artists of @CamdenPT.#WomensHour touring 2016 + new show #Letters in development for @harlowplayhouse

Kathryn Beaumont @kathrynbeaumont Actress @JPMactors • Writer • Trainee Psychotherapist • Associate Artist @arcstockton • Mental health worker @TynesideWH www.kathrynbeaumont.co.uk

Keisha Thompson @Keke_Thom Poet, Philosophy & Politics Graduate, Playbacker, Singer, Maths Tutor. Person of life and conditional love. Young People's Producer - Contact Theatre

Hannah Silva @HannahSilvaUK Poet & playwright & maker of theatre. Currently touring Schlock! My poetry collection Forms of Protest is published by Penned in the Margins. www.hannahsilva.co.uk

Louise Orwin @louiseorwin Live-Artist/Researcher. Co-D of @L_and_LG. Feminist. Courtney Stodden Fan. Buzzwords: barbiedreamhousemysticmasochismawkward ungetankfailurecoffeetablepsychosis www.louiseorwin.com

Rose Biggin @rosebiggin Student of theatre, scribbler of silly things, social moth.

The Ruby Dolls @therubydolls 'An elegant, inventive and absorbing fusion of theatre, music, storytelling, dance and puppetry' - Time Out.
therubydolls.com

Fuel @FuelTheatre Fuel produces fresh work for adventurous people by inspiring artists. All team members tweet, look for initials at end of tweets. Staff list on fueltheatre.com London http://www.fueltheatre.com

Performance Artist: Bryony Kimmings www.bryonykimmings.com @BryonyKimmings

Performance Artist: Rachel Mars @rachelofmars http://www.rachelmars.org/

The Minty Crimples http://themintycrimples.com/ https://www.facebook.com/TheMintyCrimples @MintyCrimples

A Cat and Mouse Act www.facebook.com/acatandmouseacttheatre #paperdolls @ACatandMouseAct

The Thelmas http://www.thethelmas.co.uk/ https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Thelmas/639172186160749 @TheThelmas

Vox Multiply voxmultiply.wordpress.com/ www.facebook.com/voxmultiply https://twitter.com/voxmultiply

Gender Equality Performing Arts Orgs / Events / Festivals

Women of the World Festival Held annually at Southbank centre, London http://wow.southbankcentre.co.uk/ @WOWtweetUK

The Wilding Festival www.thewildingfestival.co.uk 13th - 16th June 2013 London @WildingFestival

100 deeds www.100deeds.co.uk @artwith_heart @JenniferGaskell

Lost and Found festival @lostfoundfest Manchester 2014

Little Pieces of Gold http://www.littlepiecesofgold.co.uk @suzettecoon

Short Cuts Festival @ShortCutsLondon shortcutsfestival.co.uk

Equal Writes http://equalwrites.co.uk/ Which women are we not seeing represented on stage? @EqualWritesUK

Women In Arts Festival @soandsoartsclub @actorscentre

League of Professional Women in Theatre UK - Closed facebook group. @LofPTW

17 percent http://17percent.wordpress.com Promoting Female Playwrights

The Los Angeles Female Playwright Collective www.lafpi.com @TheLAFPI

GAP Salon - Gender and Performance - networking and discussion meetings in London http://gapsalon.wordpress.com @GAPsalon

Equity Women's Committee equity.org.uk/home/ @EquityWomen

Female Arts www.femalearts.com Reviewing female led stage productions, film, art exhibitions, and more. @femalearts

Storm in a Teacup http://joinourteaparty.wordpress.com London based collective for female musicians, writers, poets, artists and illustrators - fanzine, club nights and record label. @SIATCLdn

Creative parents/mums organisations

ProCreative Project ProCreate Project is an ON-BECOMING agency for #mothers #artists to support and produce their work during #pregnancy and #motherhood @ProcreateProj www.procreateproject.com

We like these Theatre companies / Performers

Theatre Company: Synergy Theatre Company http://www.synergytheatreproject.co.uk @Synergy_Theatre works towards rehabilitation with prisoners and ex-prisoners through theatre and related activities

Theatre Company: Peculius media and theatre company www.peculius.com @peculius

Theatre Company: Improbable @improbable1 www.improbable.co.uk

Theatre Company: Headlong @HeadlongTheatre www.headlong.co.uk

Theatre Company: Immediate Theatre @Immediate_T Make theatre with young people in Hackney http://www.immediate-theatre.com

Theatre Company: Sibling Productions @siblingprod

Theatre Company: Little Soldier www.littlesoldierproductions.co.uk @LittleSoldierP

Theatre Company: Out Fox Productions @OutFoxProds www.outfoxproductions.com

Theatre Company: London Grey and Green all female production company http://greyandgreentheatre.co.uk/ @GreyGreenTheatr

Performance Artist: Laundrette Superstar http://laundrettesuperstar.com @LaundretteStar

Performance Artist: Julie Atlas Muz @Julie_Atlas_Muz

So And So Arts Club http://www.thesoandsoartsclub.com Arts club, London @soandsoartsclub

Feminist sites /mags / zines

Counting Women In http://countingwomenin.org/ Equality = Good Politics @CountingWomenIn

The F Word http://www.thefword.org.uk @thefworduk

Womens Resource Centre http://www.wrc.org.uk @whywomen

Feminist News @feministnews http://feminist.org/news/newsbyte/uswirestory.asp Washington DC

Feminist.com http://www.feminist.com/ @feministcom

Womens Issues http://womensissues.about.com (USA)

The Fawcett Society http://www.fawcettsociety.org.uk @fawcettsociety

UK Feminista http://www.ukfeminista.org.uk Campaign for gender equality @UK_Feminista

We are Equals www.weareequals.org The big inequality debate @WeAreEQUALS

Miss Representation http://therepresentationproject.org/ @RepresentPledge

Everyday Sexism http://everydaysexism.com @EverydaySexism Project documenting everyday experiences of sexism

Women for Women womenforwomen.org.uk Women for Women International helps women survivors of war rebuild their lives. @womenforwomenuk

The Woman's Room http://thewomensroom.org.uk/ @thewomensroomuk

No More Page 3 http://nomorepage3.org/faqs/ Campaign for no more page 3 (topless women) in The Sun newspaper @NoMorePage3

Women's E News http://womensenews.org/ Read the news about women you need to know. New York. USA. @WomenseNews

Msmagazine http://www.msmagazine.com/ @msmagazine

MsFoundationWomen forwomen.org/amazon @msfoundation New York

Womens Views On News http://www.womensviewsonnews.org @newsaboutwomen

Feministing http://feministing.com/ @feministing

Queenster http://www.queenster.com Cutting edge lifestyle and women's sports magazine London/NY

Feministe http://feministe.us/blog Feminist blog USA. @Feministe

Feminist Hulk http://www.feministhulk.net/ @feministhulk

Storm in a Teacup http://joinourteaparty.wordpress.com London based collective for female musicians, writers, poets, artists and illustrators - fanzine, club nights and record label. @SIATCLdn

Soupa Creative Network http://soupa.co.uk zine and blog of 36 creatives

Magpie Magazine http://www.magpiemag.net Global female artist collective publish an annual zine.

Feminist Jumble http://feministjumblesale.wordpress.com Bi-monthly online blog open to contributions @FeministJumble

Frost Magazine http://www.frostmag.com A lifestyle thinkers mag. @frostmag

The Vagenda Magazine http://vagendamag.blogspot.com An alternative mag for women and teenagers.

The Feminist Times http://www.feministtimes.com @Feminist_Times

SheEquality Mag http://issuu.com/shequalitymatters/docs/final_shequality_magazine_decemb... For women by women, Merseyside and global. @ShequalityMatte

When Sally Met Sally http://www.whensallymetsally.co.uk/ For Girls who like Girls. @SallyMetSally

Black Chick Media www.blackchickmedia.com @BlackChickMedia

Women Writers @WomenWriters http://booksbywomen.org/

Offical Theatre @TheatreOfficial http://www.officialtheatre.com

Fine Arts and feminist Arts (Fine art and crafts)

Women's Arts Association www.womensarts.co.uk Cardiff based collective of women in the arts

Nest http://nestgallery.blogspot.com A space for female London artists

VV Collective http://wearevv.wordpress.com Supporting emerging female fine artists.

Women Arts http://www.womenarts.org/ international community of women artists USA.

National Museum of Women in the Arts http://www.nmwa.org/ Washington DC, USA @WomenInTheArts

The Art of Women @theartofwomen

Feminist Music

The Other Woman Music http://www.theotherwomanmusic.co.uk (new music by women musicians) @ruthbarnesmusic http://www.ruthbarnes.co.uk

Shebang Magazine http://www.shebang-mag.co.uk (music reviews printed zine) @shebangzine

Feminist Music Geek http://feministmusicgeek.com Feminist blog about female music based in USA. @ms_vz

Don't Dance Her Down Boys http://dontdanceherdownboys.wordpress.com/ previously http://www.dontdanceherdownboys.blogspot.com - a blog run by one woman on a mission to share her love of female musicians and female fronted bands with the world. @Stephanopolus

The Girls Are http://thegirlsare.com Online magazine promoting women in music @TheGirlsAre

Too Cute to Puke www.toocutetopuke.com Club night playing female tunes. Sweden @toocutetopuke

Bloody Ice Cream http://bloodyicecreamnight.tumblr.com/ South London grrrrl noise https://www.facebook.com/bloodyicecreamnight

Typical Girls facebook.com/typicalgirlsmcr Manchester club night playing female tunes @TypicalGirlsMcr

Radio

Wireless Theatre http://www.wirelesstheatrecompany.co.uk (Online radio theatre)

BBC Radio 4 Woman's Hour http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b007qlvb

Wired Up Media http://www.wiredupmedia.co.uk

Feminist Film

Le Cinema Des Femmes http://lecinemadesfemmes.wordpress.com

Women and Hollywood http://blogs.indiewire.com/womenandhollywood

Underwire Festival http://www.underwirefestival.com Short film festival of female filmmakers

Girls On Film http://girlsonfilmblog.blogspot.com Film review blog

Kuntsblog http://scribe-kunstblog.blogspot.com blog by a journalist and short filmmaker. I write about the intersection of politics and arts on Kunstblog.

Birds Eye View http://www.birds-eye-view.co.uk/ Celebrating women filmmakers

London Feminist Film Festival http://londonfeministfilmfestival.com/ 24th-30th November, Hackney

3 Days Film

Feminist Literature

Feminist Library http://feministlibrary.co.uk - archive collection of Women’s Liberation Movement literature London @feministlibrary

For Books Sake http://forbookssake.net - Books By and for Independent Women

Virago Press http://www.virago.co.uk - outstanding international publisher of books by women.

Tara Books http://www.tarabooks.com - an independent publisher of picture books for adults and children based in Chennai, South India. Not self proclaimed feminist, just look good.

Lucy Kerbel '100 great plays for Women' @LucyKerbel

Nick Hern Books @NickHernBooks www.nickhernbooks.co.uk

Feminist Comedy

Funny Women http://www.funnywomen.com - Female Comedy Community

Laughing Cows http://www.laughingcowscomedy.co.uk

What the Frock @WTFrock_Comedy Promoting talented female comedians. www.whatthefrockcomedy.co.uk

Rosie Wilby @rosiewilby

Carmen Ali @carmenali

Feminist Business

The Guardian's Top 100 Women

BBC's Women to Watch In The Arts

International Womens Day www.internationalwomensday.com

Where Women Want to Work www.WhereWomenWanttoWork.com

Women Leaders http://www.guide2womenleaders.com
Female leaders worldwide

Arts and Businesshttp://www.artsandbusiness.org.uk

Industry Women Central http://www.womenintobuilding.com.au/ Getting women into building - the construction industry. Australia

Visible Women visiblewomen.eventbrite.com A women in leadership campaign UK

Women in Journalism http://www.womeninjournalism.co.uk/

My Car Gossip www.mycargossip.com motoring service directory which encourages women to review and recommend motoring services.

Charities

Save the Children http://www.savethechildren.org.uk

NSPCC http://www.nspcc.org.uk

Local

Caversham Info http://www.caversham.info

Caversham Arts Trail http://cavershamartstrail.co.uk/

Women's Health

Menopause information at Healthline http://www.healthline.com/health/menopause

No longer updated

BitchBuzz Magazine http://www.bitchbuzz.com (Closed in Jan 2013 - online as an archive)

Lipstick Events http://www.lipstickevents.com (Celebrating the achievements of women -not updated since April 2011)

Lady Fest http://www.ladyfest.org (USA - last updated November 2005)

Women At the Top http://womenatthetop.ft.com Financial Times - Not updated since 2012

Young Women in Media http://workinginmedia.wordpress.com Last updated November 2012

Uplift Magazine http://www.upliftmagazine.com Feminist magazine not updated since September 2012